Day 62 – Yakima, WA to Packwood, WA

July 31st:

At a team meeting the night before, where we filled everyone in on the tragic Bike & Build accident that had occurred, we were told by the 4K for Cancer office that we were to take a day off and shuttle to the next town over as sort of a “moment of silence” for the fallen rider, Patrick, as well as for Bridget, who seemed to be doing better in the hospital upon further update.  While I understand this concept and I’m thankful that 4K showed their support of my B&B community, it was rather unfortunate that this was one of the main highlight days of our trip.  It was a climb into Packwood, WA where we’d get a better view of Mt. Adams, which we’d seen far in the distance on our way into Yakima.  It wasn’t our decision to make, though, and it was required that all 4K for Cancer bike teams shuttle day 62.  So on we went, driving a beautiful mountain road which I MUST add to the list of bike rides that I must go back and complete one day.  The huge, snow-capped mountain in the distance would have been the most rewarding site to see after climbing for miles.

IMG_6370

When we got to town in the late morning, we walked around and found a coffee shop, where we spent some time hanging out and deciding how we’d spend the rest of the day.

IMG_6351 IMG_6352 IMG_6353

We decided to take the vans to the lake.  It took us a while to get to this lake, though, because it was on a windy, uphill, unmaintained gravel road, and the huge 15 passenger van struggled a bit to get us there.  But once we made it, it was totally worth it.  The lake was one of the most beautiful sights I’ve ever seen, and we spent the afternoon goofing off together in the cool water.

IMG_6354 IMG_6358

Overall, it was a great day.  I enjoyed spending quality time with my teammates and reminding myself of how grateful I am for their friendship.  Although I was a little bitter about not being able to ride into Packwood, I was reminded of how lucky I am to have all my teammates safely here with me.

Leave a comment